10 Infographics Assignment

Here is my list of 10 infographics I found online, each with a paragraph describing why I like and chose the infographic.

Image

This infographic was created alongside a campaign to inspire people to sponsor children from developing countries.  I really like this infographic because it gives the reader a lot of information in terms that are easy to understand.  It divides the earth up into a half and then two quarters and gives statistics to show how these numbers coincide with the earth.  The infograph not only gives the number of children who die everyday due to poverty, but breaks it down even further to the minute.  The pie charts in the lower right of the infographic show the poorest and the amount of income they account for; the richest and the amount of income they amount for and the last pie chart shows the the percentage of world goods and where they come from.  Great infographic in my opinion.

Image

This infograph pertains to immigration in Arkansas, which is where I live.  Immigration is a topic that is constantly on the news and seems to be a hot topic.  This infograph does a great job of giving a lot of information on the immigrant population over the last 10 years, which runs from 2000-2010 with 2010 being the last time a census was conducted.  This graph breaks down a lot of the information into percentages, which are easy for many readers to understand, myself included.  It also shows that Arkansas is ranked number four in the United States for immigration population growth.  This makes me wonder if this could be due to the fact that Arkansas is a major producer of poultry.  There are many Tyson plants across the state and it is a well known fact that many of their workforce is Hispanic.  I also lived in Sebastian and Washington counties in the past and have seen first hand the great number of Marshallese who reside in those two counties.  I really enjoyed the information in this graph.

Image

I love this infograph because it shows me what institutions believe to be the most important public employee job in their states.  If you will notice the large amount of yellow, which comprises much of the map.  Yellow represents football coaches, orange represents basketball coaches, green represents hockey coaches and blue represents public employees that are not coaches.  For some unknown reason to me the United States is obsessed with paying coaches ungodly amounts of money while professors and teachers make a mere fraction of that.  Coaches should not be the highest paid public employee in any state.  Education, health care, programs that help the poor and those in need…I could think of a lot of other public employees who are more deserving of making more money than a bunch of football and basketball coaches.  Leave it to America to keep it classy and show the American people what really matters when it comes to pay.  Sorry for the soap box speech, it just gets to me sometimes.  I like this infograph because it gets straight to the point and highlights with colors and a few simple words what the point of this graph is.

Image

I really liked this inforgraphic because it shows a lot of income levels.  People care about money and using infographics that include money are always a smart idea in my book.  I also like this graph because it breaks nursing down into categories such as RN and LPN.  One large set that wasn’t included was CNA’s and nurses aids, which are the backbone of hospitals and nursing homes.  I have quite a few friends who are in this field and many of them make $8, $9, $10, which doesn’t make sense to me.  They are the ones that usually have the hardest physical jobs to do, but are paid the least.  I suppose it has to do with the lack of a nursing degree like RN’s and LPN’s have, but the work they do should not be belittled by lack of pay.  I like this infograph because of the amount of information that is given and the use of pie charts, a map of the state and a line graph at the end, which is need for nurses in Alaska, but should be Arkansas…misprint…lol.  Other than that I think this is a very informative graph for anyone who might be interested in the nursing field here in Arkansas.

Image

I really like this infograph because it covers a great number of years and shows the pattern of tornado’s, which are still a great mystery for scientists as to ways to detect them early to warn people they are coming.  Unlike a hurricane, which can be seen coming and action can be taken to warn people and evacuate them if necessary.  Tornado’s can literally come out of a cloud in a matter of seconds and forecasters never know how long they will last.  The paragraph that accompanies this infograph tells of the tornado that hit Joplin, MO in 2011 and is the deadliest since record keeping began in the 1950’s.  Great infograph.

Image

Here is another infograph on immigration in Arkansas.  This graph gives it’s information using numbers, be it percentages, dollars or numbers of people.  I also really like the blue box located in the middle of this infograph, which shows what the effects would be if these immigrants were removed from the state.  It also gives numbers on the purchasing power of Latinos and Asians.  It’s nice to see this because people seem to forget that not just white and black people spend money.  Great infographic.

Image

Here is an infograph on poverty here in America.  Children are the hardest hit by poverty.  This graph gives a lot of information in just a few graphs.  This would be a great infograph for people to see who are busy and on the go since it is easy to read and gets right to the point.  The fact that 50% of single mothers make under $25,000 a year is really sad, not only for the mother, but also for the children.  The last box in this graph is about trickle down economics, which republicans said would work…obviously they were wrong and has only helped the rich, who didn’t need any financial help in the first place.  Sad state of America, the poor stay poor and the rich get richer.  Great information in this infograph.

Image

Here is a great still from a video that we actually watched in either Mass Communications or Multimedia, I can’t remember which.  It was a great video and I have shown it to a lot of my friends and they feel the same way about wealth distribution as I do.  The top 31% of the country should not have over 75% of the wealth in this country.  This is helping no one except the rich.  This infograph shows the ideal distribution of wealth, what people think wealth distribution should look like and what the actual distribution of wealth really is.  One of my favorite infographs.

Image

While searching for different infographics I stumbled upon this graph and like how it’s simple and easy to understand.  One category that surprised me was the amount of people who still work in agriculture.  Although now that I think of it this could mean agri-business or corporate agriculture, such as Monsanto and not real farmers.  Another group that I was surprised about was the number of people who are unemployed in the world.  I myself can be classified as a part of this group since I am a full-time student and have decided not to work so I can devote my full time and attention to my studies.  A good education is very important to me and look forward to the day when I graduate and go out into the world and make a difference.  Great graph.

Image

This last infograph I found really interesting.  I really don’t know how truthful it is, but I did look up a few of them and found them to have the highest percentage of that item listed.  Another thing to remember is that all infographs don’t have to be so serious or of a serious matter.  I like this graph because it shows that no matter where you live no one is perfect and we all have problems and things to be ashamed of.  How true some of them are only the people who live there can maybe answer that.  🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

