The George Foreman Grill

Today I wanted to talk about what I believe is one of the best kitchen inventions ever, the George Foreman grill.

I bought my first George Foreman grill probably 12 years ago,IMG_20140220_214223_065 and I used it all the time.  Three years ago, right before I moved to Florida, my first one finally quit on me.  I ended up renting a room from a guy who had a George Foreman grill so I decided not to buy one of my own.  I lived in Florida for two years, so when I moved back to Arkansas I didn’t have one.  I stayed with my parent’s during the late spring and early summer last year before moving to Russellville, since I couldn’t move into my apartment until right before college started.  My wonderful mother, bought me a new George Foreman grill when I moved into my new place.  I don’t know what I would do without it.

I use my George Foreman grill more than I use my microwave.  I use it to grill turkey burgers, chicken, shrimp, fish and all kinds of vegetables.  I enjoy using my George Foreman grill because any fat or grease that may be in the item you are cooking drains off.  The cook time is fast too, which I really like.

Since I began my journey to a better me I have not eaten anything fried. IMG_20140220_214247_673 Grease is an enemy to someone, like me, who is concerned about what I’m eating and taking into my body.  Grilling is the way to go for me.

If you don’t own a George Foreman grill I encourage you to go out and buy one.  The one my mother bought me cost around $30, it’s one of the smaller one’s, or two servings model, since I live by myself.   I checked the George Foreman Grill website and grills range from the $30 model I own up to $90, so they are not overly expensive and definitely well worth the price.

Below are some great recipes that use the George Foreman Grill.  Check them out and happy, healthy eating.

George Foreman Grill Recipes

Grilled Orange Chicken

Leave a Reply

