The Scale…Friend or Foe?

Before I started on my weight loss journey the scale was not something that I stepped on very often.  As a matter of fact, I avoided it like the plague.

When I started on this journeyIMG_20140214_183654_765 I went out and bought a scale, since I didn’t have one, and I weigh myself once a week to keep track of my progress.  One problem that many people have is the fact that they weigh to often.  Weighing yourself everyday is not a good idea since the scale can be deceiving and weigh you more one day and maybe less the next day.  I’ve read several different articles on the subject of how often to weigh.  Most of what I’ve read has said to weigh once a week or once every two weeks.

Weighing yourself everyday can get you down or depressed and cause you to “fall off the wagon” and lose sight of your goal.  Another problem that people seem to have is that they want to see instant results.  Just like with weight gain, weight loss takes times.  I look at it like this.  I didn’t gain all this weight overnight so guess what…I’m not going to lose all this weight overnight.

Do not weigh yourself on carpet.  Always weigh yourself of a flat hard surface.  Always use the same scale, preferably only used by you.

Keep in mind that everyday is a new opportunity to do better than you did the day before, or if the day before was a good day then today is day two for another good day.  Keep a positive attitude about it and whatever you do don’t give up.  One of my favorite quotes is this,  “The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”  Don’t let the scale be the only determinant when it comes to your weight loss.   The things you eat, the way your clothes fit, and the amount of exercise you do are all better determinants than what a scale says.  Keep a positive attitude about the journey and don’t let what a number on a scale says determine your worth as a person.

Here are some articles pertaining to the scale and weighing yourself.

Do you make these 10 common mistakes before weighing yourself?

4 Signs it’s time to step off the scale.

Leave a Reply

