Tomato Zucchini Pie

So a few weeks ago I posted a recipe that I had found online and said I was going to make it because it looked so good.  Well tonight was the night.  The recipe can be found here, Blogging Over Thyme.

Tomato and Zuchinni Pie 008

Before the brushing of the olive oil, minced garlic, and basil.

I used a pre-made pie crust instead of making a tart from scratch, and if the reaction of two of my neighbors is any indication they didn’t mind the pie crust over a tart at all.  🙂  I did finely chop up fresh basil though opposed to using dried.  I used organic minced garlic out a jar instead of mincing up fresh cloves.

So here’s how it went.  First I took my pie crust out of the freezer and let it thaw for about 15 minutes before using it.  I then mixed the olive oil, minced garlic, and chopped basil together and brushed the bottom and sides of the pie crust.  Then I took a couple pinches of Parmesan cheese and sprinkled it over the olive oil, minced garlic, and chopped basil that was brushed on the pie crust.  The recipe called for 1/3 cup of Parmesan, but I decided a couple pinches was enough for me.  Plus it’s a great way to cut out fat and calories.

Tomato and Zuchinni Pie 009

After the olive oil, minced garlic, and basil have been brushed on.

Then I cut up my zucchini and tomato into slices.  I then placed 2 slices of zucchini for every 1 slice of tomato going in a circle around the edges.  I made 3 complete circles around and ended up inserting more all around and filling it in which seemed to work just fine.  I knew they tomato and zucchini would shrink so I filled it in and hoped it would still come out looking full.

Then I brushed the olive oil, minced garlic, and chopped basil on top of the zucchini’s and tomatoes and placed it on the middle rack of a pre-heated oven at 400 degrees.  I baked it for 30 minutes.

I let it cool for about 10 minutes and me and two of my neighbors had a wonderful dinner.  They both complemented me on it.  It was absolutely delicious and while it was cooking it made my whole apartment smell so good.

I highly recommend trying this recipe.  The only thing is, I didn’t use a 1/4 of a cup of olive oil.  I used what the recipe called for, but ended up with about half of it left over.  Using half of what the recipe called for also helped to cut out fat and calories.  I put the extra in the fridge and thought I might use it to brush on some grilled zucchini here in a couple days.

Tomato and Zuchinni Pie 011

30 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees and…here is the finished product. YUM!

So it was a total success and like I just said, I highly recommend you trying this.  The zucchini and tomato compliment each other so well and the basil and minced garlic make it even better.  I will definitely be making this again.  SO GOOD!

Here is another recipe I might try out soon.  Kind of the same idea, minus the pie crust.  This looks really good too.  Of course I’ll have to tweak it and less olive oil and cheese, but that’s what makes cooking so fun.  Sometimes you change it up as you go.  I’m really getting into this eating healthy thing.  It’s fun, plus it’s healthy.

Zucchini Boats with Grape Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

