The Health Benefits of Tomatoes

Tomatoes are one of my favorite vegetables.  There is nothing like a fresh tomato out of my mom and dads garden in the summer. IMG_20140124_180829_346 During the winter months I have to buy them at the store.  Springtime can not get here fast enough for me, not only do I really dislike cold weather, I also miss the fresh vegetables that I get from my mom and dads garden.  Hurry up garden growing weather, I miss you.

Today I wanted to touch on some of the health benefits of eating tomatoes.  I found some great information at beliefnet.com and wanted to share some of the highlights with you.  Credit goes to them for the following facts about tomatoes.

I learned that a serving, which is one cup of red, ripe, raw tomatoes is a good source of Vitamins A, C, K, folate (also called Vitamin Bc, which is a B vitamin that is essential for cell growth and reproduction) and potassium.  Tomatoes are naturally low in sodium, saturated fat, cholesterol and calories.  Tomatoes also provide thiamine and niacin, which are both kinds of B vitamins, as well as vitamin B6, magnesium, phosphorus and copper, all of which are necessary for good health.

Here are a few other things you may not have known about tomatoes.  Some of them even surprised me.  Tomatoes are good for your skin. IMG_20140124_180806_690 Tomatoes have beta-carotene in them which helps protect your skin from sun damage.  Tomatoes are a natural cancer fighter since they contain Lycopene.  Lycopene can reduce the risk of several cancers, including prostate, cervical, mouth, pharynx, throat, esophagus, stomach, colon, rectal, prostate and ovarian cancer. Tomatoes can help keep your blood sugar balanced. Tomatoes are a good source of chromium, which helps to regulate blood sugar.

As you can see there are many health benefits for eating tomatoes.  I never knew eating tomatoes could be so beneficial.  I’m glad I love them.  As for the saying, an apple a day keeps the doctor away, maybe you could also say, a tomato a day keeps the doctor away too.  🙂

Check out this recipe I found.  I can’t wait to try it.  Looks delicious.  YUM!

Tomato Zucchini Tart

One thought on “The Health Benefits of Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

