Staying Motivated When It Comes To Exercise

IMG_20140119_165932_835

Bona Dea Trails. My favorite place to walk when the weather is nice.

Motivation, by definition, is the reason or reasons one has for acting or behaving in a particular way.  Every person is motivated to get out of bed in the morning and start their day.  I know some days are harder than others when trying to pry ourselves out of that comfy spot, but we’ve got to do it.  We’ve all been in that situation of not being motivated to get out of bed, so we all know how it feels.

So what motivates a person to get out of bed instead of laying there all day?  A person’s motivation could be their job and/or making money, or their family and children.  It could even be something fun and exciting planned for the day.  No matter what it is there is a reason that motivates a person to put two feet on the ground and get out of bed.

IMG_20140122_170526_740

My mileage from the gym today.

One thing that I’ve done to keep myself motivated is to take pictures of how many miles I do at the gym.  I will also be taking a picture of myself at the start of every month to track my progress, and to keep myself motivated to keep going.  I also bought a scale and weigh myself once a week.  A word of advice, do not weigh yourself more than once a week.  Give yourself seven days before you step back on the scale.  For some people they may want to weigh themselves every two weeks.

Here are a few tips to help you start exercising, if you don’t already, or if you already do, some things to help keep you motivated.

  1. Set one goal for yourself each week.  The problem many people have when starting to work out or get into better shape is they overload themselves with too many things they must accomplish, and many times end up feeling like a failure and quit.  No matter how small the goal may feel, if by the end of the week you’ve accomplished it, then that makes you feel good.  Then the next week you can make a bigger goal.
  2. Find something that inspires you.  Search the web for weight loss stories.  Reading about other peoples successes can make the road ahead not fell so lonely and like “you’re the only one”.
  3. Post your goal.  You can post a goal online, on your Facebook or Twitter, or you could post it on your refrigerator to keep you motivated as to what you want to accomplish.
  4. Find support.  Search Facebook or the web and find other people who are going through the same thing you are.  Join a online fitness group to talk about your good, as well as your bad days with others.  Finally, follow a blog, such as this one, to help you along the way.
  5. Make a dream a reality.  With summer just a few months away many people begin to think about what they are gonna look like in their bathing suit, or swim trunks.  People find all kinds of things they “wish they could wear”.  Instead of wishing, start working toward the goal.

Here are a couple links that have more ways to stay motivated.

86 Ways To Motivate Yourself To Workout

Get Motivated to Exercise After a LONG Day at Work/5 Tips

2 thoughts on “Staying Motivated When It Comes To Exercise

    • Thanks. The first week was kind of rough, making myself go workout, but I’m already feeling so much better, and I have no problems going now. I don’t want to give away how much I’ve lost since the first of the year. I decided to do a blog at the beginning of each month telling how much weight I’ve lost from the previous month. So stay tuned, here in about another week I’ll be sharing my January weight loss total. 🙂

Leave a Reply

