My Workout Music

IMG_20140119_164808_465

Getting my walk on at the Bona Dea Trails.

Whether I work out and walk in the fitness center on campus, or I walk at the Bona Dea Trails, I must have my music.  It’s very motivating for me personally.  I will walk or work out without music, if I absolutely have to, but if I have ear buds available, there will be music to jam to.  To attest to this fact of ear bud availability let me tell you how prepared I wanted to be when I started this journey to a better me.  I went out and bought three pair of music ear buds so I would be covered for a while at least.  For some reason the ear buds only last a few months, and then the sound goes out in one ear or the other, no matter what brand I buy.  I did buy a pair of skull candy brand a couple years ago at Target and they lasted almost a year, but there isn’t a Target in Russellville, and Walmart doesn’t carry them.  So I’ve had to go with another brand, but like I said I bought three pair just to be fully prepared.

The music I listen to has to be upbeat, dance, make you wanna get your workout and walk on, and shake your booty kind of stuff.  No slow stuff for this guy.  I use my iHeart Radio app on my phone, plus I have music loaded onto my YouTube as well.  I have several different playlists so I don’t get tired of the same music over and over again.  When I find new songs I like I add them to my playlist which means I have lots of variety.  Variety is very important to me, which is the main reason why I don’t listen to traditional radio anymore.  They play the same 10 songs over and over again, after a month or two throw them out and find 10 new songs to play to death.  Oh radio, how you’ve changed since I was a youngster.

Some of the artists on my playlist are; Lady Gaga, David Guetta, Kylie Minogue, Lindsey Sterling, Ricky Martin, Jessica Sutta, Krewella, Raluka, Cascada, Sharon Doorson, Joss Stone, Loreen, Daft Punk, Kelly Clarkson, Annagrace, Gossip, The Bee Gees, Tiffany, Selena Gomez, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, Billy Ocean, Denise Williams, Janet Jackson, and Madonna.  I have many more, but you get the idea.

Working out and walking to music just makes sense to me.  Plus, for me, it doesn’t seem like “working out” or “exercising” if I have my music going.  It’s loads of fun and  I encourage you to put some ear buds in and get your workout and walk on too.  The results are worth it.

Here is a great article I found:

7 Reasons You Should Listen To Music When You Work Out

Leave a Reply

