My Good Friend…Water

IMG_20140118_242033_311

My 1 gallon water pitcher. Since I’ve started this journey I have been drinking 2 pitchers per day. I imagine once I get in better shape this will increase. Years ago when I was in really good shape I was drinking 5 to 6 gallons of water a day.

Water, as we all know, is necessary to sustain life, plus it is actually good for you.  So why do so many people not drink enough water, or no water at all?  Many people complain that it has no taste, and it’s plain, or bland.  That really isn’t a good excuse these days.  There are numerous products available in the form of water flavors that you can add to water to make it taste like almost anything.  An even better alternative is to add a wedge or two of lemon or lime, or cut up some fresh strawberries or blueberries into your water.  So many fruits can be added to water so the possibilities are endless.  Just cut up the fruit and wait 5 or 10 minutes and there you have it, flavored water.  Plus you can eat the fruit, which is also good for you.

One major problem, I believe, with so many people’s lack of water consumption, or none at all, is due to the fact that people’s taste buds have been hijacked by a beverage industry that wants you drinking their product instead of water, unless they sell bottled water, and then they want you buying their water.  What I find interesting is that bottled water usually cost about the same as sodas, sometimes even more.  Sodas have colors added, and artificial flavors, and sugars, and all kinds of words I can’t pronounce, so I can see why they would charge what they do.  Manufacturing soda should cost more than water, not the other way around.  I mean, it’s water.  People argue though that water has to be treated and purified and that’s why it costs what it does.  Here’s an idea, why not offset the costs from the water treatment and purification onto sodas and sugary drinks that same company may make.

IMG_20140118_242159_018

I buy a few different water flavors. The two on the left are 0 calories. The box on the right is 10 calories per packet, and is a good source of Vitamin B and C. There are so many options available. I do switch up flavors when I buy new ones so I don’t get tired of the same thing. I usually do a 20 oz. bottle one day with lunch, and they next day I will do a 20 oz. bottle with dinner, as well as a bottle of tap water. I usually do two bottles of water with dinner. Lots of water. 🙂

Another problem, I believe, with water consumption is the bombardment of advertisements wanting the public to buy sodas and sugary drinks, coffees and latte’s, sugary energy drinks, like I said before, everything but water, unless their company sells it.  In that case they want you to buy water from them.  These drink ads come in the form of television commercials, ads in print and online, commercials on the radio, billboard signs, and big signs and advertising at the grocery store.  When is the last time you saw a commercial for water?  Not bottled water, but just plain water?  I can’t tell you the last time I did.  Why?  Because the beverage companies don’t make money off of “regular” water, but even that kind of water isn’t free.  The majority of people live in towns and cities that provide them with water, for a cost, of course.  If you are lucky enough to have a water well on your property I envy you.  My parents do, and I grew up on well water.  I miss it.  If you do have water that’s provided by your town or city why not drink it.  Some people complain about having bad water where they live and that’s the reason why they don’t drink it.  Buy a water filter for your faucet, or buy a water pitcher with a filter.  Even better, use the water filter on your faucet, and place the water into the water pitcher with the filter then you have double filtered.

I encourage everyone to drink more water, whether it be from a well, a faucet, or if you must, bottled.  Below are some tips on why it’s beneficial to your health to drink more water, and the second link gives more tips on how to love the taste of water.  Check them out.

Why Drink More Water?

How to Love the Taste of Water

Leave a Reply

