Fitting Exercise Into A Busy Schedule

We all have busy lives.  Finding time to exercise can be hard.  Trust me I know, but as the saying goes…If there is a will there is a way.

IMG_20140116_173139_891

One hour’s time spent on the treadmill today. Total mileage for the week will be announced on Saturday…Stay Tuned.

This semester I have 5 classes and a multimedia practicum, 5 blogs a week, and in about a month I will have one news story a week due that I have to work my exercising into.  My three classes on Monday, Wednesday, Friday are at 10 am, 12 pm, and 2 pm, so I have an hour break in between each class.  Those hour in between breaks are utilized for working on homework, reading, and going over notes from class.  The hour break from 1 pm to 2 pm I eat lunch and study.  Today I had a banana, some grapes, and a bottle of water.  On Tuesday and Thursday I have two classes.  My first class is at 11 am and runs until 12:20 pm.  My second class is at 1 pm and runs until 2:20 pm.  The 40 minute break in between those two classes I eat lunch, and study or read.  On Thursday after I get out of class at 2:20 pm I have my multimedia practicum at 2:30 pm and it lasts until 3:50 pm.  So working out and exercising for me this semester comes in the late afternoon.

On Sunday I can go to the gym anytime after 1 pm which is when they open.  On Monday I go to the gym at 3 pm after class.  On Tuesday I go to the gym at 2:30 after class.  On Wednesday I go to the gym at 4 pm since there is a class going on in there at 3 pm when I get out of class.  On Thursday I go to the gym at 4 pm after my multimedia practicum.  On Friday, which isn’t until tomorrow, but I plan on going at 3 pm after class.  Saturday is my free day, no workout that day.

So there you have my daytime schedule.  As for my evenings and night schedule it’s not as hectic, but I do have it structured.  After I get home from the gym I shower and sit down at the computer and check emails, personal and school, Facebook, my news websites, etc.  I spend about 30 minutes catching up with what’s going on in the world then I hit the books.  I then work on homework, blogging, etc. for an hour to an hour and a half.  At 7:30 pm I make dinner and try to time it for about 8 pm when my show comes on.  The Rachael Maddow Show is my guilty pleasure.  Her show airs at 8 pm on MSNBC.  From 9 pm to 10 pm I usually work on Math.  I then watch the 10 pm news.  After it goes off I get online, watch a couple episodes of one of the many TV shows I never have time for, but at this time, and catch up with what’s going on on Facebook.  So that usually puts me in bed around 12 am and 1 am.

Whew, I’m tired just describing all that.  I wonder sometimes how I make it all work out, but it seems to be so far.  Plus I am a bit of a structure/organization freak, so it’s not as difficult for me as it is for a lot of people.  It just takes managing your time well, hard work, and the determination to do it.  I have faith in you, you can do it if you set your mind to it.

Here are a couple links with tips and ways to fit exercise into your busy schedule.

The Top 10 Ways to Fit Fitness into Your ‘Too’ Busy Schedule

Fitting Fitness Into Your Busy Schedule

Leave a comment