You Are What You Eat

IMG_20140114_153437_732

Breakfast…Blueberry Bagel with Whipped Cream Cheese, 1 Banana, some Grapes, and a cup of Almond Milk.

Eating is something we must all do.  Just like air and water, food is a necessity.  All three are necessary and are what makes life possible.  There is no getting around it, and if there is it’s news to me.  People don’t want to breathe air that’s dirty, could make them sick, or cause death.  This would be unacceptable.  People don’t want to drink something that’s harmful, could make them sick, or cause death  This would also be unacceptable.  People do eat things that aren’t good for their bodies, and years of eating unhealthy foods can lead to major health problems.  So why is the food we eat not as important, when it comes to our health, like air and water is?  Like the air we breathe and water we drink, what we eat should be very important and of concern to everyone.

IMG_20140115_151903_738

Lunch…Roasted Turkey Sandwich on Wheat, with a slice of Cheddar Cheese, Lettuce, Tomato, and Spicy Brown Mustard with a serving a Hearty Grain Chips, and a bottle of water.

Unhealthy eating can cause many life and health problems.  Some of these you may know about, but some may come as a surprise.  I was surprised by a couple myself.  Here are some of the problems caused by unhealthy eating;  poor brain function, insulin resistance, which can lead to diabetes, heart disease, weight gain, indigestion, heartburn, poor sleep, and mood problems.  This is a very short list of the many life and health problems that can be caused by a unhealthy diet.

Like I stated in my last blog I have jumped into getting healthy with both feet.  I have cut out sodas and caffeine, but I didn’t drink them that often before, so that was no big thing for me.  I have totally changed the foods I consume, and also the way I eat.  I joined the fitness center at Tech and work out 6 days a week.  I have already logged 9.5 miles on the treadmill so far this week and there are 3 days left in the week.  Once the weather gets warmer I am going to take advantage of the Bona Dea Trails as much as possible while still attending the fitness center too.

I decided that enough was enough.  I am tired of being called or known as “stocky” and a “big ol’ boy”, as they say here in Arkansas, or as I like to call it…fat!  I am doing this for me, no one else.  That is the most important reason that I, or anyone else can have for eating healthy, exercising, and being the best they can be…me, myself, and I.

IMG_20140115_200804_310

Dinner…Ground Turkey Burger grilled on the George Foreman,on a toasted bun, with a slice of Cheddar Cheese, Lettuce, Tomato, and Spicy Brown Mustard, 1 whole Zucchini, cut in half and quartered, sprinkled with Greek seasoning, and grilled on the George Foreman, a half a cup of Cottage Cheese, and a bottle of water.

So now for a little challenge to you the reader, try making some better food choices for you and your family, cut back on unhealthy things you buy, cut out a few sodas a week, don’t eat out as much, go for a walk a couple days a week, even if it’s just for 10 or 15 minutes.  Any one of these can make a difference for the better in your life.  Why not try making a small change like one of these each week?  In a matter of months you will not only feel better, but you may look better too.  And who doesn’t mind looking better?

Here are a couple links, click on the title and it will take you to the link.

5 Extremely Unhealthy Eating Habits to Avoid

The health benefits of turkey

Leave a Reply

