Let The Journey Begin

First off, for those who don’t know me personally, let me introduce myself.  My name is Terry and I’m 37 years old.  I currently reside in Russellville Arkansas.

January 13, 2014

January 13, 2014

I am attending Arkansas Tech University pursuing a bachelor’s degree in Print Journalism, minoring in Sociology and Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL).  After I complete my bachelor’s I’ve decided to go for my master’s degree.  I’ve been thinking about a master’s in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), or maybe a master’s in Liberal Arts.  I haven’t made up my mind yet.  It’s still a couple years away so I have plenty of time to think about it.

Since I have my education moving forward and going in a positive direction I have made the decision now to work on eating healthy, working out, losing weight, and being the best me I can be.  I have been down this road before.  A little over 11 years ago in 2002 I decided to do this exact same thing.  At that time I weighed 312 lbs and over the course of about a year and a half I lost 130 lbs.  I kept the weight off for about 2 years and gradually gained 5 or 10 lbs here and there over the years, and now 8 and a half years later here I am again…but not at 312 lbs.  I weighed myself on January 1 and I weighed 285 lbs.  Not where I was a little over 11 years ago, but it’s not that far away, and was a wake up call for sure.I have spent the past 11 days changing my eating habits and walking a couple days a week.  The weather hasn’t been the greatest since the first of the year.  It’s January in Arkansas so it kind of goes with the territory.  Well starting this week, January 12, 2014, my full throttle better me journey begins.  Sunday I went to the Bona Dea Trails here in Russellville and walked 2 miles.  Monday, on the first day of classes, I joined TechFit, the fitness center, on the Tech campus and walked 2 miles on the treadmill.  Cold weather will not stop me now thanks to the fitness center opening back up for the semester.  So like I said, it’s on now!

I forgot to weigh myself when I was at the gym earlier tonight so I will let you know where I am later this week along with what my weight loss goal will be for the course of this semester.

I will be sharing photos of what I’m eating, giving you helpful hints, sharing websites that I might find interesting and helpful, sharing recipes, and doing my best to be a motivator to everyone who struggles with their weight.  I will be taking a picture of myself once a month for the next 4 months so not only I, but you to can see my progress on my journey to a better me.  This blog is for a journalism class, but even after the class is over I will continue to share my journey with you all.  I hope my journey encourages and inspires you to want to live a healthier and happier life for not only yourself, but for those who love you and are a part of your life.

Thanks for reading and let the journey begin.

January 13, 2014.  Sweaty after the gym

January 13, 2014. Sweaty after the gym, although the sweat is hard to see. Trust me, I was. 🙂

Leave a Reply

